What I Did In English + Photos

Ok so my Mom and I are doing a book called ‘Writing From The Inner Self’. Personally, it annoys me. Before I start writing, I have to sit still with my back away from the back of my chair, my feet on the floor and I have to concentrate. That’s the annoying part. And then when I get into writing it’s good. πŸ˜‰ I think I just don’t want to admit it’s helping me concentrate. Don’t tell my Mom that! πŸ˜›

My Mom likes everything I write. (I love my Mom! She puts up with me!) Even when I write my rantings about how much I dislike the book. (Actually now I like it a little) So I asked her to give me tips on how to write something she won’t like. And then I asked her if she wouldn’t like it if I wrote a story with lovable characters and she would fall in love with the characters and then I’d kill them all. She sat there for a moment and then said she wouldn’t like that. Now I know! πŸ˜‰

The exercise for today was to imagine a beautiful place in nature and to notice the things around you and the time of day and season. Then imagine sitting down and noticing where you chose to sit and then imagine an action happening and after the action you stand up and walk back the way you came and notice what you can hear and see and see if anything is different from when the action occurred. And we’re also not supposed to edit anything or stop writing. I think I did a couple times though. πŸ˜› The following is what I wrote: (Sentences with *’s I edited just now)

I trudge up the hill slowly, my bare feet digging into the soft green grass. I take time to notice my surroundings; a bunny hopes past me. The wind blows gently, making the daisies around me sway. I spin around and run all the way up the hill, the grass a carpet at my feet. I look around and sit down once I reach the top. The sun is shining and a couple clouds dot the sky. A pond is to my right, *ducks paddling their webbed feet through the babbling water.* Birds *sing songs*in the heavens and butterflies flit around me. *One lands on my finger. I laugh.*

Suddenly, I hear an old vintage car rattle across the old dirt road behind me. I sigh and lie down. After a few moments, I stand up. A bunny is just peeking out of a burrow, wondering if the old noisy thing has passed. I walk back down the hill. The birds are gone now frightened by the car. But soon they fly into view again. And the butterflies are once again lazing on a dandelion or flitting around the meadows. I continue to walk down the hill and the bunnies are still coming our of their holes after the car has passed.

The action: The old vintage car rattling across the road

What changed after the action: When I walked up the hill and sat down the bunnies and birds and butterflies were already out. When I walked back down the hill, the animals were just coming back out because of the noise of the car.

Also, here are a few photos:

A couple weeks ago we went to the funeral service of an old friend near the place we used to live. Afterwards, we visited our old place and my Mom took a couple pictures of my brother and I rafting on our dam. Wow, I miss that place!

20170629_145240
We also used to catch yabbies here… All the ones we caught died though. 😦
20170629_145304
We had a rope connecting the raft to a tree just in case we couldn’t row back… My brother was using a pitchfork to row!
2017-07-26 18.43.17.jpg
My two older brothers and my Dad built this raft years ago. It’s sort of falling apart. It still holds us though if we stand on the middle boards that are popping up. Also, my brother has a hat and mustache because I wanted to cover his handsome face.

I hope you enjoyed that piece of writing and photos! πŸ™‚ See you later.

chat with me!

Do you have a dam? | Do you go rafting? |Have you caught yabbies before? | How has your day been? | What are you doing in English?

Be - YOU - ti -f ul!-4

16 thoughts on “What I Did In English + Photos

What did you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts. Please keep them clean and respectful, and do not take God's name in vain. Thanks!

