What Showing And Not Telling Really Means

“Show, don’t tell!” you’ve probably heard that phrase over and over again you don’t know how many times you’ve heard it. Well, I’m going to throw it at you again. Show, don’t tell. I’m sorry, really, I am. XD You probably know what it means but that title was what I came up with first and I liked it so I kept it. πŸ˜›

I’ve read a lot of stories and books. Some stories say things like this: She said excitedly. Or, He went reluctantly.

I know it’s actually hard sometimes to show and not tell, take it from me, because I fail at it a lot of times. πŸ™‚ (I actually did a post with writing tips in it and one of them was about describing, but I sorta wanted to expand a little on the thought) But an example of showing and not telling goes something like this:

Telling: “Come on, Sara!” she said impatiently.

“Alright, I’m coming.” I said reluctantly.

I’m not saying it’s bad to do that, but it sorta makes the reading a hint more interesting (or a lot more) if you use different words. And showing and not telling also shows a little bit about your character too. There might be something about that character that shows when he/she is impatient, or angry, something unique like the tip of their nose turning white; or their lips twitching etc.

Showing: “Come on, Sara!” she yanked my hand towards the stall her eyebrows furrowing.

“Alright, I’m coming.” I rolled my eyes and heaved a sigh. I had better things to do.

Or something like that. πŸ™‚ There is such a thing as over describing, though. Like if you go on and on when it’s not necessary to. I don’t have an example for that, but I’m sure you know what I mean. πŸ™‚

Also, another quick tip for your writing, a good way to get your readers to keep reading is if you end your chapters in suspense. For example, someone is about to fall of a cliff (classic πŸ˜› ) or their they’re (Zielle, c’mon! Put on a good show, you’re writing a writing post here! It’s ‘they’re’, not ‘their’!!!!) about to get caught, something like that. Something that will leave people saying, “I can’t wait to find out what happens next!” It doesn’t have to be so dramatic like someone dying, but you get my gist. πŸ˜›

Well, I hope this helped! πŸ™‚

P.S Hey guys, when you have the time, don’t forget to check out the ‘For Bloggers‘ page (hover over it and you will see some fallout pages). Some of you may remember my Define That Word game, something I created on my old blog. I also moved my ‘Buttons‘ page to the ‘For Bloggers’ page, and there is an ‘Upcoming Bloggy Events‘ page there also, where you can check out the newest things happening on blogs (such as Wordcrafters, writing challenges, new blogs, etc.

Be - YOU - ti -f ul!-3

I know this is my 3rd post today. Sorry πŸ˜› Well, I made a new sign off! It’s not the best, but I made one. πŸ™‚ Told ya’ I would! πŸ˜‰

6 thoughts on “What Showing And Not Telling Really Means

  1. Great post, Zielle! Loved hearing about your perspective on showing vs. telling. Unfortunately, it’s a mistake I make all the time. I’m like, “I’M SURE THE READER ISN’T SMART ENOUGH TO FIGURE THIS OUT SO I MUST TELL THEM!!!” πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Danielle! I’m glad it helped. πŸ™‚ I wasn’t sure about it though because I’ve said ‘Show and don’t tell’ I don’t know how many times. πŸ˜›

      Like

What did you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts. Please keep them clean and respectful, and do not take God's name in vain. Thanks!

