Beyond The Horizon – Jesseca Wheaton (Book Review)

Hi everyone!

Yesterday I found this book via Reveries Reviews, Beyond The Horizon by Jesseca Wheaton. And from Kellyn’s review, I immediately saw it as a great book. So enough of that, let’s get on with it. πŸ™‚

<<<>>>

**UPDATE: WHAT??? WHAT WHAT WHAT? WHY DID I RATE THIS BOOK 4/5?! It is my all time favorite!! What was I thinking? This book is now officially rated 5/5. There. I am literally reading this book right now. Again. Any book that gets me to read it again for the third time has to be rated perfectly.**

Rating: 5/5 stars

Source: Amazon Kindle

Age range: 12+

Era: Late 1930’s (WW2)

Beyond The Horizon

This cover!!

Eliana longs to see the world beyond the mountains that tower above Salzburg, Austria, but knows that dream will never see such adventure- and neither will she.

Surrounded by a world of cruelty, she lives for the weekly visits of Aron, a boy she met on one of her rambles through the countryside.

But as the years pass and she begins to grow older, a new and unwelcome world is opened up to her.
On a fateful night at a party she vowed she’d never attend, she comes face to face with a shocking truth.

As the world around her teeters on the brink of war, Eliana struggles to figure out just where her loyalty lies; a decision that will drastically change the course of her life. Will she ever be free to see what lies beyond the horizon?

<<<>>>

Let’s just say first of all, the cover is amazing. I don’t usually pay attention to the covers of books, but I really like this one (and I LOVE the cover of A Question of Honor). It’s SO professional.

This story was fantastic. I saw that it was christmas story, a fairytale retelling of Cinderella, in Austria AND in WW2??! WOW! It’s so unique and interesting. I loved it. Jesseca Wheaton is a very talented young author and she’s inspired me to write more because she’s only 18 (I think) and she has published 3 or more books already, guys! ( :O )

This is a book I will certainly read more than once. πŸ™‚ (it’s because of Aron, believe me)

Characters:

Aron: Aron is this sweet, loving, amazing guy who befriends Eliana (Elly). I just – I loved him. Although, at the beginning, he is this young jolly boy and then it all changes. In the next chapter, he’s a man already and I feel as if his ‘youngness’ (that’s not a word is it) could have lasted longer. But of course, from the prologue to the first chapter, it skips to four years later so obviously I can understand that. πŸ˜› I think Jesseca developed his character really well.

Elly: Elly is a girl who’s been living with her cruel Mother and her two sisters, Annie and Dalia. I liked her character, strong yet timid I suppose.

Wilhelm: I loved his character as well, but I wished there was more scenes of him. But, after all, it is a short story and he’s supposed to be ‘suddenly discovered’. I’m not going to tell you who he is, though, because I don’t want to give you a spoiler. πŸ˜‰

Writing: I would have liked a bit more description, but other than that, the writing was great and I would definitely recommend more of Jesseca’s books (especially A Question of Honor. Can you tell how much I enjoyed it? XD ) . I’m not sure if this should be in writing section or the setting section, ( πŸ˜› ) but I would have liked more description or an occasional ‘reminder’ that it was Christmas. Well there was the Christmas party, but maybe more small things showing what it would have looked like in Christmas. (BUT AFTER ALL IT IS A SHORT STORY WHY DO I KEEP SAYING THIS) I also loved that there was a little mystery in the story.

Setting: It was hard for me to remember that the setting was in Austria in WW2, and not some fantasy world. I understand though because it is a short story and how much can you fit into a novella? But I liked how (SPOILER ALERT)Β they found out that Elly was really a Jew because it added more to the touch of what was happening during that era.

Overall, I loved this book. It was so heartwarming and sweet, and I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Christmas stories, or historical stories or fairy-tale retellings. πŸ™‚

P.S I always have trouble writing boys who like a girl because I don’t want them to be too lovey dovey or mushy, but I still want it to show that he likes her. πŸ˜› Any ideas?

<<<>>>

Zielle

(I am currently without a signoff πŸ˜› )

Do you think you will read Beyond The Horizons?

I love Aron!! πŸ˜€

10 thoughts on “Beyond The Horizon – Jesseca Wheaton (Book Review)

  1. I think you already know where I stand with this book … it’s simply wonderful!

    As far as writing about boys liking girls and all that romancy stuff … sometimes reading (good) romance can help a little (if you’re ready for that). As long as, like you said, it’s not mushy or lovey-dovey … kinda like the romance in Beyond the Horizon; I thought that was well-done. I’d suggest checking out Lindsey’s blog, http://booksforchristiangirls.blogspot.com/ to find good recommendations. She’s very meticulous about her reviews, and lists all the content, so you can find really clean, godly books to read. πŸ™‚

    Or … you could take my (probably terrible) advice. I think that showing that a boy likes a girl (or vice-versa) is mostly in making sure they are loving … not in a lovey-dovey way, but like very close friends. You know, like that one Bible verse: “love suffers long and is kind, love does not parade itself, is not puffed up … (etc.)” That’s my basis for any romance I might write. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

What did you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts. Please keep them clean and respectful, and do not take God's name in vain. Thanks!

