Thursday Cookups #1

Hi everyone and happy Thursday! I finally got to cooking at around 2:30, and finished at around 5:20. It always takes me that long to cook things. ๐Ÿ˜› Today’s cooking consisted of my singing, our occasional arguing, silliness and us messing up the kitchen. But the turnout? Well, keep reading to find out! ๐Ÿ™‚

My brother and I scanned through a heap of recipes containing potatoes, because that was literally all that we had (aside from some carrots and onions and a few other stuff like that). I found a potato soup recipe on Taste.com and decided that’s what I would cook. I didn’t actually follow the recipe exactly (like I always do). I added in a small zucchini from our garden. Halfway through our cooking the benchtop was filled with ingredients we didn’t use, and cheese for my brother’s pizza and for my soup all over the place. And that wasn’t nearly as messy as it usually is these Thursdays!

About my brother’s pizza, we had the crazy idea of potato pizza and searched up the recipe. It wasn’t even pizza. It had no tomato paste! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ What is pizza without tomato paste!ย But then again, I guess potato and tomato paste wouldn’t be that good of a combination. Then my brother had the idea of garlic and cheese pizza, because #garlicpizzaisoneofthebest. I didn’t get to take a picture of it though.

Then I asked him to make garlic and tomato pizza because I saw a picture of it online and it looked so good. And being the amazing brother he sometimes is, he agreed. ๐Ÿ˜‰ We didn’t have actual pizza base so he used wraps. Above are some pictures of the tomato and garlic pizza.

I liked it, and I’d probably give it a 3.5/5 star rating. I asked him how he rated it and he told me he rated it 0/5. (but Mom said she loved it! And whatever Mom says! :P) XD Despite the fact that the first time he tasted the first pizza he said it was ‘heavenly’. ๐Ÿ˜› Believe me. It wasn’t that bad. You can tell he’s my brother. I’m always criticizing my cooking too. And then Mom always comes up with something else positive to say.

So back to my soup, I cut up lots of potatoes and after sautรฉing onions and garlic with butter and beef fat (it’s like tallow) I added in potatoes and some other spices/ingredients which included

  • paprika
  • salt
  • dill seeds
  • cheese
  • celery seed powder
  • pepper (at the end)

I added some water, and then noticed the zucchini lying beside the sink. I peeled it then cut it up and tossed it in. I put more water, and then it started boiling over. Dang. I transferred it into a bigger pot and let it boil while adding more potatoes because I could.

tmp_12506-20170504_165724-558037467

When the zucchini and potatoes were a little soft, I blended it all bit by bit until it was a nice blend that looked like thin mashed potato. I boiled it more and added more salt, some pepper and turmeric. I put to much, because as is my habit, I never use a teaspoon to measure how much I add in. I never learn! XD That’s why it looks a little yellow in the picture.

I added some sour cream and took these pictures:

My rating: 4/5 or 5/5

Family rating average: 5/5

I was pretty happy with the turnout. ๐Ÿ™‚ The best thing I’ve cooked since we started cooking on Thursdays!

Last time I cooked chicken bites as I mentioned in this post (I mentioned it at the very end of the post if you can find it), it ended up being very salty! And the last last time, I made potato roti. It wasn’t amazing, but it was ok.

Well, see ya later! Gonna have some of that soup. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Zielle

I kept writing gralic instead of garlic! Like literally every single time! XD

7 thoughts on “Thursday Cookups #1

What did you think? I'd love to hear your thoughts. Please keep them clean and respectful, and do not take God's name in vain. Thanks!

